News Archive


Bowling Green, KY (May 14, 2019) – Each year, Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKYCTC) recognizes faculty, staff and students that demonstrate exemplary work ethic, extraordinary impact and a positive connection with students and colleagues at SKYCTC at the Spring Awards Day. 

This year the College gave recognition in the categories of:

  • Outstanding Student Mentor Award
  • Faculty/Staff Department/Division Award of Excellence
  • Student of the Year Award
  • Faulty Promotions
  • Peer Mentor Recognition in the New Faculty Mentor Program

    The Outstanding Student Mentor Award is based on nominations from students of the College and from the statements they submitted about their instructors.

Nominees for this year’s award were: Brian Eadens, Maggie Fose, Bertena Varney, Julie Dent, Christina Florence, Carmen Gaskins, Noni Waggoner, Renee White, Debra Crews April Harris, Tammy Inscoe, Jim Bronson, Jennifer Shoemake, Viren Patel, Lisa Rhoades, Kristina Tackett, Jim Turner, Jonathan McDermott, Heather Rogers, Kerry Turner, Angela Galloway, Shellenna Smith, Sherry Youngquist, and Art McFadden.

The overall winner of the Outstanding Student Mentor Award was Brian Eadens.

The Award of Excellence Winners in each department/division were:

  • Academic Affairs - Lisa Hunt
  • Advanced Manufacturing Technologies Division - Gene Basil
  • Allied Health and Nursing - Carolyn Morris
  • Arts and Humanities - Natalie Marcum
  • Adult Education - Debbie Graven
  • Business Affairs - Alyssa Johnson
  • Business - Art McFadden
  • Facilities Operations - Patsy Villanueva
  • Mathematics and Sciences Division - Jennifer Shoemake
  • Outreach and Community Development - Oakley Vaughn
  • President’s Office - Sherri Forester
  • Student and Organizational Success - Miranda Phillips

Student of the Year nominees were: Victoria Browning, Gage Proctor, Melissa Haslett and Selena Lopez.

This year’s Student of the Year is Melissa Haslett.

Faculty members who were promoted in rank were recognized at the awards event. The following faculty received promotions:

  • Jared West promoted to Assistant Professor
  • Angela Galloway promoted to Associate Professor
  • Wendy Moore promoted to Associate Professor
  • Ellie Adams promoted to Associate Professor
  • Claudean Ellis promoted to Associate Professor
  • David Jones promoted to Associate Professor
  • Kathryne Lefevre promoted to Associate Professor
  • Shellena Smith promoted to Associate Professor
  • Bertena Varney promoted to Associate Professor
  • Debra Crews promoted to Associate Professor
  • Christina Florence promoted to Associate Professor
  • Renee White promoted to Associate Professor
  • Joseph Finley promoted to Professor
  • April Shive promoted to Professor
  • Traci Gentry promoted to Professor

New Faculty Mentor Award Program participants recognized were: Loucas Papalouca, Kim Otto, Christina Florence, Ellie Adams, Bertena Varney, David Jones, Rex Combs and Amy Norrodd. 

Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College congratulates each person nominated and those receiving the awards and promotions.

Photos of award winners and those recognized.