News Archive


Photo of nurses at teh capping pinning ceremony

Cave City, Ky. – Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKYCTC) held its nursing pinning/capping ceremony for Registered Nursing students Wednesday, December 11, 2019. The ceremony took place at the Cave City Convention Center.

The College honored forty-eight RN students completing their Associate Degree from the Glasgow Campus. Thirty-nine first-year RN students attending the Bowling Green Campus received their nursing caps. Awards and recognition were presented by various health care facilities in the area.

At the conclusion of the ceremony, the candidates recited the Florence Nightingale Pledge, a time honored tradition of the nursing profession.

RN students honored in this year’s ceremony were:

Allen County
Amber Hogue, Mallory Marr, Summer Murdock, Erika Rich

Barren County
Brittany Birge, Emily Blair, Victoria Dixon, Kimberly Gama-Hernandez, Mika Irwin, Ann Lee, Sherri Likens. Jessica Lyle. Amanda Lynn. Bailee Mayes, Maria Norman, Michaela Patterson, Jeanna Raney, Dustin Williams

Butler County
Ian Cardwell, Taylor King

Edmonson County
Carsan Logsdon, Brenna Wilson

Grayson County
Bridget James, Haleigh St. Martin

Green County
Lindsey Davis

Larue County
Jasmine Jones

Metcalfe County
Savannah Smith

Monroe County
Matthew Coffelt, Mackenzie Miller, Taylor Smith, Haley Taylor, Avery Turner

Simpson County
Jordan Finn, Macey Johnson

Taylor County
Tina Hughes

Warren County
Nicole Richards, Coralee Bumpus, Jennifer Fincham, Brooklyn Hite, Brittany Johnson, Kaitlyn Kinslow, Devin Murphy, Mersiha Omic, Haley Parker, Laura Priddy, Mercedes Roution

Out of State
Myron Asberry - Macon, TN
Chelsey Whitley - Macon, TN

Awards Presented:

Devin Murphy received the Golden Bandage Scissors Award presented by Megan Calkins, RN, CNO, of T.J. Samson Hospital.

Mika Irwin received the Ann K. Rogers Nursing Award presented by Ruth Hunley, RN of Glasgow B&PW Club.

Bridget James received the Village Manor Excellence in Geriatrics Award presented by Devon Neal, Human Resource Director of Village Manor.

Taylor King received the Mollie Carmon Obstetrical Award presented by Natassia Peyton, RN - SKYCTC Assistant Professor

Erika Rich received the Dr. Frist Commitment to Patient Experience Award presented by Judy Fulkerson, VP HR - TriStar Greenview Regional Hospital

Lee Asberry received the Barren County Clinical Nursing Award presented by Jason Gumm, Administrator of Barren County Nursing and Rehab.

Avery Turner received the NHC Better Way Award presented by Tiffany Saltsman, RN, DON of NHC Healthcare.

Lindsey Davis received the Dr. Phillip Bale Mental Health Award presented by Kathy Brooks, RN, DON of, Glasgow State Nursing Facility.
Lindsey Davis received the Medical Center Excellence in Nursing Award presented by Jill Payne, RN, CNO of The Medical Center at Bowling Green

Brittany Johnson received the Monroe County Medical Center Accountability & Leadership Award presented by Hillorey Carnahan, RN, CNO of the Monroe County Medical Center.

Devin Murphy received the Signature of Glasgow Sacred Six Award presented by Leslie Smith, Administrator of  Signature of Glasgow.

Devin Murphy received the Dr. Jimmy T. Isenberg Nursing Award presented by Dr. Jennifer Shoemake - SKYCTC Dean of Math & Science.

Lindsey Davis, Amanda Lynn, Devin Murphy, Brenna Wilson, Erika Rich, Nicole Richards, Avery Turner and Chelsey Whitley received the Perfect Attendance Awards presented by Ms. Wendy Moore, RN, and Ms. Brittany Bourque, RN, SKYCTC Associate Professors.

Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College has been producing highly trained nurses for the region since 1957.

Ceremony candid photos

Pinning and capping photos