News Archive


Bowling Green, KY (January 5, 2015) Each year, Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKYCTC) recognizes Faculty and Staff that demonstrate exemplary work ethic, extraordinary impact and a positive connection with students and colleagues at SKYCTC though their New Horizons Awards. These awards are presented to an individuals in the categories of: support staff, administrative staff and faculty at SKYCTC. The 2014 winners are Amy Cannon, Support Staff; Raymond Haddix, Administrative Staff, and Dr. Mike Riggs, Faculty.

Amy Cannon, recipient of the New Horizons Support Staff Award, currently serves as the Assistant Registrar and has been a devoted employee with SKYCTC for nine years. In addition to her regular duties, Amy shows great diligence to the annual SKYCTC Commencement Ceremony and serves as Co-Chair for the Orientation Committee. Other SKYCTC Support Staff New Horizons Award nominees were: Sherri Basil, Chad Lindsey, and Kristie Lee.

Raymond Haddix, recipient of the New Horizons Administrative Staff Award, is the Coordinator for the Simpson County Adult Education Center and has been employed with SKYCTC since August of 2013. During the 2013-14 fiscal year, Simpson County Adult Education was ranked number 1 by the state of Kentucky Adult Education for achieving over 100% in enrollment and performance and 100% GED attainment. Ray is also very active in the Franklin community and works diligently for student success. Other SKYCTC Administrative Staff New Horizons Award nominees were: Gene Basil and Dr. James McCaslin.

Dr. Mike Riggs, recipient of the New Horizons Faculty Award, believes in bringing the real world to his culinary arts classes through the use of modern technology and a vast network of connections. He encourages his students to participate in a variety of college community service activities and continues to demonstrate exemplary performance in the classroom, community and throughout the college. Other SKYCTC Faculty New Horizons Award nominees were: David Jones, Jim Bronson, and Jeff Phelps.

SKYCTC has the mission to improve the employability and quality of life of south central Kentucky citizens as the primary provider of: certificate, diploma, associate degree, and collegiate transfer programs; college and workforce readiness programs; workforce education and training; and adult and family literacy.

Dr. Neal handing Award of Excellence to Amy Cannon Ray Haddix receiving award from Dr. Neal and Dr. McCaslin

Amy Cannon receives the Support Staff Award of Excellence from SKYCTC President Dr. Phillip Neal, presented by last year's winner Millie Wells.

Ray Haddix receives the Administrative

Staff Award of Excellence presented by Dr. Neal and last years winner, Dr. James McCaslin.

Mike Riggs receiving award from Dr. Neal and Angie Harlan
Mike Riggs receives the Faculty Award

of Excellence presented by Dr. Neal and last

years winner, Angie Harlan.