News Archive


Cave City, Ky. – Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKYCTC) held a nursing pinning and capping ceremony for PN and RN students on Wednesday, December 5 at the Cave City Convention Center.

The College honored 24 RN students from the Bowling Green campus receiving their Associate in Applied Science Degree in Nursing, as well as 51 PN students and 52 RN students from the Glasgow Campus who participated in the ceremonial capping exercise.

 Bowling Green Campus RN Class # 3 Pinning
Receiving the Associate in Applied Science in Nursing

Kayla Akins *,Kim Allen, Kaeley Carter *, Kristen Carter, Ashley Cooper, Jeff Corder, Rebekah Cothron *, Michael Crabtree, Laura Fevold, Bailey Hunt, Tiffany Johnson, Tori Krantz *, Natalie Lawrence *, Angela Marr, Destiny McKenzie, Mirela Music, Margaret Ribby, Brittany Richardson, Morgan Rutledge, Edith Schmucker, Heather Steff, Rachael Suiter, Elizabeth White, Brianna Wilson

*Earning an Associate in Science Degree

 Glasgow PN Class # 68 Capping

Bailey Atwell, Sheonna Bartley, Max Bell, Kelsey Bowles, Michaela Brown, Morgan Burton, Alicia Butler, Lauren Carey, Nicki Carver, Jenniffer Catalan, Brandi Caudill, Katelyn Causey, Elizabeth Cole, Latisha Cox, Jacklynn Craft, Sydney Daniels, Keri Dismon, Lindsey Eaton, Tori Eaton, Austin Farmer, Melaney Glidewell, Hannah Goodson, Raven Hale, Colleen Hughes, Nora Janes, Tiffany Key, Mackenzie Manning, Brittany McFarland, Elma Miropija, Jonathan Morris, Emira Mujkic, Cole Peavler, Bailey Peden, Reagan Perdue, Whitney Phelps, Carolyn Pickerell, Kevin Pope, Josie Potter, Deleashia Reynolds, Sharica Savage, Nicole Shaw, Savannah Smith, Lexie Stephens, Renee Stinson, Kelsey Strode, Courtney Turner, Abbigail Walker, Danielle West, Wittlee Williams, Heather Wilson, Isabella Wilson, Caitlyn Wood

Glasgow Campus RN Class # 6 Capping

Myron Asberry, Brittany Birge, Emily Blair, Coralee Bumpus, Ian Cardwell, Matthew Coffelt, Lindsey Davis, Victoria Dixon, Brooklyn Ennis, Jennifer Fincham, Jordan Finn, Kara Fisher, Kimberly Gama-Hernandez, Amber Hehn, Tina Hughes, Mika Irwin, Bridget James, Brittany Johnson, Macey Johnson, Jasmine Jones, Taylor King, Kaitlyn Kinslow, Ann Lee, Sherri Likens, Carsan Logsdon, Jessica Lyle, Amanda Lynn, Mallory Marr, Bailee Mayes, Mackenzie Miller, Summer Murdock, Devin Murphy, Maria Norman, Mersiha Omic, Haley Parker, Michaela Patterson, Laura Priddy, Jeanna Raney, Erika Rich, Nicole Richards, Savannah Richardson, Mercedes Roution, Josh Smith, Taylor Smith, Haley Spurlock, Haleigh St. Martin, Jonna Thomas, Avery Turner, Andrew Wade, Chelsey Whitley, Dustin Williams, Bna Wilson

Awards and recognition were presented by various health care facilities in the area. This year’s award recipients were:

Kayla B. Akins received the Golden Bandage Scissors Award presented by Shea Wilson, RN, CNO of T.J. Samson Hospital.
Bailey Hunt received the Village Manor Excellence in Geriatrics Award presented by Heather O’Banion, ED of Village Manor.
Kayla B. Akins received the Mollie Carmon Obstetrical Award presented by Ms April Shive, RN, Associate Professor at SKYCTC
Mirela Music received the The Medical Center Excellence in Nursing Award presented by Jill Payne, RN, CNO of the Medical Center of Bowling Green.
Victoria A. Krantz received the Geriatric Clinical Award presented by Michelle Miller, RN, DON of Barren County Nursing and Rehab.
Ashley D. Cooper received the Dr. Phillip Bale Mental Health Award presented by Amanda Lile, RN, ADON of Glasgow State Nursing Facility.
Perfect Attendance Awards were presented to: Kaeley C. Carter, Ashley D. Cooper, Rebekah R. Cothron, Mireal Music, and Edith R. Schmucker.

At the conclusion of the ceremony, the candidates recited the Florence Nightingale Pledge, a time- honored tradition of the nursing profession.

SKYCTC has been producing highly trained nurses for the region since 1957