SKYCTC Phi Theta Kappa Inducts | SKYCTC

News Archive

SKYCTC Phi Theta Kappa Inducts

Bowling Green, Ky. (April 28, 2017) - On Thursday, April 27th, the Phi Theta Kappa – Beta Upsilon Alpha Chapter at Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKYCTC) held an induction ceremony for 39 local students receiving the honor of membership. The event was held on the College’s Main Campus in Bowling Green, KY.

“This ceremony is a public acknowledgement of student achievement and academic excellence,” said SKYCTC Assistant Professor and Phi Theta Kappa sponsor Jessica Bayer.

To receive an invitation to join this Honor Society, students must have completed 12 credit hours of associate degree coursework, with at least a Grade Point Average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,275 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates, U.S. territorial possessions and Peru. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 125,000 students inducted annually. Phi Theta Kappa is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society of two-year colleges.

Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa membership were:

Amanda Allison, Dustin Anderson, Brittany Breininger, Rachel Carson, Samuel Christopher, Mark Chute, Mikayla Collins, Pedro Cuautle, Hener Echeverria Nolasco, Chelsea Eggleston, Kristie Estes, Kimberly Gama-Hernandez, Caleb Goodman, Nathan Grace, Alexandria Hampton, Jeanette Harris, Jalen Hunter, Paulina Juarez-Ramirez, Heather Lickteig, Michael Masterman, Kennedy Mathis, Shannon Matthews, Jesus Medina, Charity Miller, Diana Mullins, Matthew Musick, Kelly Nash, Steven Peterson, Victoria Powell, Kaylyn Price, Lee Rich, Brandon Riney, Shelby Schlicht, Thomas Schueler, Vice President, Matthew Thompson, Angelina Wade, Madison Wright, Heather Wyatt and Sara Zwakenberg.